Hysterical Tongues
  1. 1: Dr Ning!
  2. 2: Bub’s Laughing Bones
  3. 3: The Yodelling Winds of Conscience
  4. 4: Paul Whiteman Days
  5. 5: Edgeworld
  6. 6: Hysterical Tongues
  7. 7: The Big Room
  8. 8: Dance the Night Away

When Rex Bland and the Recessions decided to call it a day, the Blackshadow asked Rex what he was planning to do next.

‘Sit in a darkened room and write songs about hearing voices in me head,’ Rex said. 'Would make more sense than you lot farting on about knack-all.’

They’d been tense times, not helped by the fact that Rex and Israel hadn’t spoken to one another for over three months.

But one year’s squabbles can be another year’s hoots, and while THE SPECTRAL PRiDE were recording The Assassination Bureau, the Blackshadow asked Rex if he’d ever written the songs about hearing voices in his head.

‘Only the one,’ said Rex. ‘“Hysterical Tongues”.’

‘Sounds a good enough name for a project,’ said the Blackshadow.

And once the idea had been hoyed on the beermat in front of the rest of the PRiDE, everybody was on board and willing to make hearing voices in your head the subject of the next Bollockbrain Project.

When it came round to writing and recording tracks, however, THE SPECTRAL PRiDE decided that they would like more voices than their own in the mix. This they did by recording songs not written by themselves - 4 from Jonny Deadpan, and a club version of the old Cream number ‘Dance the Night Away’. They also used interesting vocal samples where appropriate.

1-4 written by Deadpan, ©2004 Deep Coma. 5-7 written by THE SPECTRAL PRiDE, ©2004 Bollockbrain Productions. 8 written by Bruce/Brown.

All tracks arranged and played by THE SPECTRAL PRiDE.

Recorded by Zblotnik at the Bollockbrain Bunker.

Engineered and mixed by The Knobster.

Produced by Mr Reindeer.

℗2004 Bollockbrain Productions. Some rights reserved.

Hysterical Tongues is no longer available for downloading.